The First CSA Pickup: Gotta Love ‘Em Greens

The time has come.  Our first CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) pickup was yesterday.  I must admit to being quite excited…you don’t know what’s going to be in your bag until the morning that you pick them up, so I got to spend the past week dreaming about what I could be eating this week.  The other members of the family aren’t all on board yet, but I am planning to convince them with all the wondrous meals that we’ll be preparing this summer :)!

Dreaming became reality when I picked up:

  • 1 head endive
  • 1 head red butter leaf lettuce
  • 1 head green butter leaf lettuce
  • 1 bunch beets
  • ½ lb of fava beans
  • 1 lb of broccoli raab
  • Garlic curls
  • 10 salad turnips
  • 1 bunch mint

Yum!  When we picked up yesterday we still had one small head green cabbage and ½ head of fennel remaining from our visit to the Falls Church Farmer’s Market, so I needed to make sure that those were incoporated into our (new) weekly meal planning.

So, what are we going to eat this week?!

Tonight, we made an Italian inspired chicken, garlic curls, cabbage, and capers sautee, with farmer’s market butter (from Blue Ridge Dairy), olive oil, and white balsamic vinegar.

I think this falls into the Ditch the Recipe category – I knew that I wanted some protein (the chicken), wanted to add some crispy vegetables, with a little sauce to flavor the starch that accompanied the meal (egg noodles in this case).  Given that I needed to use the cabbage, and wanted to try the flavor of the garlic curls, I decided to move into an Italian flavor by using the olive oil plus balsamic combination.  Sprinkled with a lemon-herb spice mixture, and served with fresh parmesan, it was quite tasty.

We rounded out the meal with featured local produce: a three-lettuce salad with fennel and shaved Parmesan, and a baguette from Lyon Bakery stand at Union Station that I bought on my way home tonight.

For the rest of the week, we’ll make:

And, then, we’ll revisit the pantry and make a plan for the Farmer’s Market on Friday.

Tags:

6 Comments to “The First CSA Pickup: Gotta Love ‘Em Greens”

  1. I’ve only just become acquainted with those salad turnips and I’ll admit that I really like them.

  2. Which CSA did you join? That list looks pretty similar to ours, though no lima beans for us (Potomac Vegetable Farms). I’m the only one in my house who appreciates fennel, so I’ve held off on getting yet this season. That salad looks delish.

    Thanks for sharing with Local Potluck Tuesday!

    • We joined Potomac Vegetable Farms this year too! When your little one gets a little older, you can expand his tastebuds with fennel. The salad was wonderful. BTW – I think we were both in the Atwater’s line at the same time at the Courthouse market last week! I was trying to get everything we needed while the rest of the family waited in the Westmoreland line.

      Thanks for providing an opportunity to share on Local Potluck Tuesday – when I figure out what to do with the summer squash and kale I got today, I’ll link it to your site.

      Liz

      • That’s funny, I thought I recognized those PVF greens. :) We only get a mini share so we miss out on some of the cooler stuff, like the fava beans. And I don’t think it was me at Courthouse, though I may have been in the Atwater’s line at Falls Church at the same time! I haven’t made it to Courthouse yet this year since we’re closer to FC.

  3. We shared a share of Potomac Vegetable Farms a couple of years ago. It was fun to try new greens – although I remember LOTS of garlic curls!! I can’t recall why we didn’t pick it up the next year – perhaps it fell off the radar, and we started growing more of our own. I wish they offered fruit, too. We have also tried Washington’s Green Grocer, which gets delivered to your house (in a not very eco-friendly new cardboard box each week). This does include fruit, but not always local – there is an organic and a conventional option.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers

