Who Needs Peapod When Your Farm Delivers?

One of my great joys over the past 9 months has been to sit down on Sunday afternoons, and think about what I wanted to cook over the next week. As our regular routine was anything but regular, this simple step was one that helped ensure that there was something in the freezer to cook … and brought a big smile to my face in the process. But I did not order food from our local Harris Teeter or our local Giant. I had no need to do so. Instead, I went onto the South Mountain Creamery site to figure out what to order. We have a recurring milk and egg order, and now routinely order cheese, sandwich meat (awesome salami), and some meat from them.  Sometimes we’ll add something pickled, or if it is cider season, some apple cider. And we have not been disappointed. The milk still makes my kids sing with joy (especially if I splurge and get a chocolate milk half gallon…), and the meat and cheese are much more flavorful than what we used to get at the grocery store.

As I was thinking about renewing our CSA, a friend of mine posted on FB asking for advice about local CSAs. After I shared my thoughts about our CSA, I read the comments that a friend of hers posted, and learned that there is a farm delivery service called South Mountain Veggies that is modeled on a CSA but that allows you to make substitutions in your order. I know that many CSAs also have that option, but ours does not. So, I jumped on the website, and started to look around to see what was available. As I looked, I realized that I could still support local and organic producers, but have a little bit more control over what produce came in our bag. So, we decided to give it a try, and got our first bag Friday. We are working our way through it — but were thrilled at the freshness and flavor that has characterized everything so far.

The husband is pretty happy with this new approach to the CSA. His biggest complaint has been that we end up composting too much of what we get from the CSA (especially the Swiss chard) … and he is hopeful that this approach will fit better into the reality of our lives.

And best of all for me … I can get locally sourced flour for baking!!

So, no need for Peapod. I can order just about everything I need from these two sources, supporting my local farmers, and enhancing my sanity by reducing trips to the grocery store!

Readers — do any of you depend upon local farm delivery services in addition to your local farmers’ markets and/or CSAs?

 

 

 

5 Comments to “Who Needs Peapod When Your Farm Delivers?”

  1. We use a modified CSA that allows for more choices and substitutions. I still shop at the farmers market for cheese, eggs and meat. And because I just love it!

    • I think the modified CSA makes a lot of sense. Especially with a picky eater in our family….

      And we still shop at the farmer’s market every weekend … because we love it too :)!

  2. How exciting to be able to choose what you want and have it delivered too! Oh, and I’ll take you left over chard – love that stuff! ha

  3. Yes, my CSA delivers and it has made all the difference in the world. Well, maybe not all the difference but my stress level is down. The down side is that it keeps me away from the farmer’s market and I sort of miss that so I go out once every month or so.

  4. Hello Family! just dropping by to let you know that I nominated you for an award. Please come by and have a look. Congrats! http://whisksandchopsticks.wordpress.com/2013/04/05/blog-awards/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers

