Renewal: The Promise of Spring

It was a long winter in our household. After nearly three long years of struggle, my mother finally succumbed to her battle with cancer. Blessed to be with her when she died, it has taken me a couple of months to catch my breath, and reset. My blog, started as we waited to learn of her diagnosis, has suffered mightily from the darkness of winter and the sorrow of a lost parent. But over the past several weeks, I have found that stories have been bubbling up to the surface, and the desire to write, and share my photos of the world around me have re-emerged. And it is spring, and the promise of new life surrounds us. Here are some of the stories that I expect to show up on the “pages” of the Family Foodie Survival Guide. Which one do you want to read first?

  • There was an article in The Washington Post this morning, that reflected on the ways that eating together shapes who we are – whether we are families, or kids at school, or even colleagues at work – and that is slowing taking shape as a cornerstone of a post that should emerge here.
  • I received a gift of Indian pickles from a friend at work that anchored a recent dinner at our home … and have a post titled When Dinner Begins With A Condiment rattlin’ around in my mind, waiting for pen to hit paper (or I guess, more accurately, for fingers to hit keyboard – not quite as poetic)!
  • I volunteered to review a new book, hitting the bookstores this month, Gaining Ground: A Story of Farmer’s Markets, Local Food, and Saving the Family Farm, that features one of the farms that we have been purchasing meat and eggs from for more than a decade.
  • I was nominated for a blog award by Whisks and Chopsticks, and must do my part to share the love!
  • It’s nearly time to plant our garden … and we are planning some radical redesigns since our tomato plot really needs a rest.
  • We are trying out new vendors for our produce and have to share our perspectives on our produce delivery option, Hometown Harvest.
  • And I got a new camera for Christmas that I am having lots of fun playing with…see below J!

So, here we go again! I do hope you’ll come along for the ride.

11 Comments to “Renewal: The Promise of Spring”

  1. Liz, good to see you back. I want to hear about your new suppliers.

    Sorry to hear about your mom. I lost my dad to cancer ten years ago, and still miss him. It is hard, isn’t it?

    • Thanks for the welcome back! It’s been more difficult than I imagined — but we are settling in the new routines. I know that she will remain in our memories for ever. Sorry to know about your dad as well. And I am looking forward to jumping back into the blog-o-sphere!

  2. So glad to see you starting anew, just like spring. Moving on after losing a parent can be painful and difficult, but you’re surrounded by those who love you. I look forward to a new season of blogging and eating. Welcome back.

  3. Welcome back. You are right Spring is a time for new beginnings. I am sorry to hear about you mom. My thoughts are with you.

  4. I’m so sorry for the loss of your mom. Glad to see you writing again. Looking forward to reading more!

  5. I’m saddened and sorry for your loss, while simultaneously looking forward to reading the stories percolating in your head.

  6. So sorry about your mom. That is a tremendous loss. I look forward to your stories and pictures, especially reflections on how eating together shapes us. I think blogging about eating is sort of an extension of that …

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers

