Meal Planning = Sanity

I know, I know. This is absolutely not new news for those of you in the blog-o-sphere who meal plan regularly. But I have been unable to meal plan with any regularity. I can’t give you any sort of a good reason why, other than to say that something else always seemed to take priority.

But when I looked at our food expenditures for December – I took a deep breath, and said to myself – “Get it together, girl!”

Parenthetically, I know that December is not the best month to plan for the year on – lots of entertaining, lots of meals out – but it did serve as a wake up call for me.

Couple that with the fact that my family indulged me with a chest freezer … that needed to be filled … and the fact that the next three months are jam-packed with rehearsals for the kids and the DH … and take out for dinner every night was not going to happen, I jumped back into the meal plan mode. I cleaned off the white board (which still had a list of meals on it from September…), and started the week off with a plan.

  • Tacos
  • Sausage, White Bean, and Spinach Soup
  • Homemade Pork Spring Rolls
  • Slow Cooker Chicken and Sweet Potato Curry
  • Shrimp & Grits
  • Pan fried Chicken Cutlets, Spinach, Brown Rice
  • Pasta Bolognese

And you know what? It worked. We ate well last week. There were no discussions about what should we make for dinner tonight. The slow cooker was used twice. Except for one night, we ate dinner at a reasonable hour (for us between 7:30 and 8:30 pm). There were leftovers for lunch. And time for the DH and I to catch up with Game of Thrones.

So, after we got home from the market yesterday, you know what I did? I bet you can guess.

Yup, I made another meal plan. Here’s what’s on the plan this week:

  • Tea Braised Brisket (braising away in the oven as I type)
  • Moroccan Fish Tangine (must use the new tangine pot given to DH as a gift)
  • Red Lentil Dal, Saag Paneer
  • Pork Chops with Red Cabbage & Apples
  • Steak Fajitas
  • Butternut Squash Lasanga

Raise your glass for a toast! Sanity Reigns!

3 Responses to “Meal Planning = Sanity”

  1. I agree, Liz. I need planning to keep me from wasting food. You will love that freezer. I absolutely love mine, for fruit, tomatoes, pesto, and stocks.

    • I am already loving the freezer, and hope it will provide me lots of reasons to blog! I can’t wait until summer so that I can stock up with local produce…I am thinking about doing a CSA again this year. Thanks for stopping by!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

