Eat and be happy

This is the focus of an article, Captain of the Happier Meal in the May/June 2010 issue of Eating Well. According to the research of Dr. Hibbeln, consuming too many foods packed with omega-6-rich oils and too few packed with omega-3s may be related to depression and poor mental health.  So, he recommends, change your diet!  Who knew?!  I mean, I knew that it was good to pay attention to getting more omega-3-rich food in our diets, but knew nothing about omega-6s.  As I read the article further, I learned that we currently consume much more omega-6s than we need (10 to 25 times more omega-6s than omega-3s), and much of that is because of our overconsumption of processed foods – made with corn, soy, and safflower oils.  And, as I’ve been learning from my ongoing reading of Diet for a Hot Planet, the meat that most of us consume is grain fed – and guess what those grains are? Corn and soy.  So, the meat that we eat is contributing both to climate change … and to the human species’ negative vibe.  As a psychologist, I know that the brain is mostly fat, but it never really clicked how important diet is to the composition of our brains! So, more reason to reduce our meat consumption, increase veggie and fruit input, and try to introduce more omega-3-rich fish into our diet…

Another reason for us all, including the Family Foodie, to think twice about the food we put in our mouth.  Now, I’m not sure how I’m going to convince my seafood hater to eat more seafood, but I have some good ideas about what I need to consider when I shop for or prepare the snacks that he’s always looking for.

Leave a Reply

