Hello ChooseMyPlate, Good-Bye MyPyramid

MyPlate

What do I like about the new USDA plate?

First, fruits and veggies are half of this plate.  We like that.

Second, meat has been replace by protein. Makes a lot of sense to me.  We are already enjoying exploring the many different sources of protein in our diet.

Third, if you go to the USDA site, and click on each of the sections, you are taken to resources that give you many examples of what fits into each category.

And the 10 Tips Pages have lots of great ideas about how to incorporate these guidelines into your daily life.   I especially liked the one for encouraging kids to eat more fruits and veggies. Their number one idea, smoothies, is a favorite in our household.

What do I need to know more about?…How many of these plates are we supposed to eat a day? Is this a three-plate-a-day plan? Or a six-plate-a-day?!?! What about plate size?

Overall, though, my first look through the materials leave me with a smile, and some helpful tips that I will try to integrate into our eating.

I’d love to hear what others think.  Comment away!

Leave a Reply

