If We Did The 100-Mile Challenge, What Couldn’t We Eat?

This was the topic of dinner the other night.  I have read several tales of eating within a limited radius, including the classic, The 100-Mile Diet, and the American version, Plenty, and I always wonder whether we, our family of five, could actually do it.

And so, we talked about it at dinner.  What couldn’t we get that was raised within 100 miles of our Northern Virginia homestead?

Oranges and clementines, said the Fruit Hater!

Chocolate, said the Picky Eater!

Coffee, noted the Now-16-Year-Old and Recent-Convert-To-Java-In-The-Morning.

Bananas, said the Man of the House.

And, I said, what else? Anything basic or foundational to our diet?  The kids struck out – all of their other “missing” foods were well within our local radius.

But I said, what about bread? What about rice? What about lentils?

I was greeted with puzzled stares.

This, however, is what stops me cold whenever I think about trying to do the 100-mile-diet.  What would we do for bread and rice? Wheat is not grown and milled around here, or at least not that I am aware of. This was a challenge for the authors of The 100-Mile-Diet too, as I recall.

And without locally-sourced rice, we would lose a central component to at least half of our meals.

What a conundrum!

Plenty of veggies, and stone fruits, and greens, and meat, and milk, and butter, and cheese, but a life without bread and rice would be hard. And what about olive oil? or those lentils?  We certainly wouldn’t starve, but we’d have to rethink.  Which, I guess, is the point of doing a challenge like this….

What would you find it hard to do without on the 100-mile diet?

2 Comments to “If We Did The 100-Mile Challenge, What Couldn’t We Eat?”

  1. I have often wondered about that too – the lentils especially! When I first started thinking about eating locally, I sort of thought I’d see dried beans at the market and I’d be doing lots of meals with those – but I barely saw any. Do share if you ever figure this one out 🙂

Leave a Reply

