Can We Get to Zero?

Zero food waste, that is.  A goal to which I have aspired for over the past year or so (ever since I read Diet for a Small Planet), but have fallen woefully short more times than I care to note.

But, it is a new week tomorrow, and Green(ish) Monkeys is going to give it a try, and I thought I’d join in.

So, today I got ready.

I cleaned out my fridge:

1. I threw out the greens rotted beyond recognition, as well as indeterminate contents of tupperware.

2. Greens on the yellow side were added to the compost.

3. All other limp veggies, and leftover but unconsumed veggies and stems from dinners last week were put in pot of water.  I added an onion and some fresh thyme and celeriac stems, and let it simmer all day while we enjoyed the awesome Indian summer day.

Now, we have 6 cups of vegetable broth in the freezer for use this week or next.

4. After those were cooked and strained, those veggies were added to the compost.

5. The Man of the House made an apple pie, and homemade tomato sauce using the last of our garden tomatoes, and some dribs and drabs of pesto, and half a can of leftover tomato paste… that we enjoyed over our pasta this evening.

6. And then I made a list of what I need to remember to cook this week, rather than going to the store to buy more food that I might not use in time…

  • salad greens
  • arugula
  • cilantro
  • thyme
  • 4 spicy peppers
  • potatoes
  • 1 bunch cauliflower
  • 1 bunch broccoli
  • a few beets
  • 3 good sized radishes
  • 8 small tomatoes
  • 2 bananas
  • more apples
  • lemons
  • limes
  • fresh ginger
  • fresh black beans
  • pole beans
  • the rest of the limp basil….
Of course, there’s lots more in the freezer and in the fridge not included here (eggs, cheese), but the real challenge for me is making sure we eat all of the produce that comes in to our house. As you can see  – we do not lack for produce.  And Tuesday we get more from our CSA!
So since I’m home tomorrow, maybe I’ll make zucchini bread, and a cauliflower and potato curry, and a green salad for sure, and more pesto – both basil and arugula.  I think the bananas will go into smoothies in the morning… using some frozen berries too. Once you start thinking of all you can do with what’s already in your fridge it can be hard to stop :)!
I’ll try to post throughout the week to report out how we do.  Join in if you wish!
5 Responses to “Can We Get to Zero?”

  1. This is something I think about often. So my version of not wasting food often takes the form of eating all the little scraps that the kids leave on their plate!

  2. It’s funny I should run across this (after you found me-and thanks!), as I’ve been struggling with this very issue and have planned to write about it too. I’m going to follow along and hopefully steal some good ideas.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

