Planning for Dark Days Challenge Meal 2

I am thinking about my Dark Days Challenge recipe for the weekend, and I am wondering what I will make. And, while wondering, I was moved to revisit my cookbook shelf. And as I was browsing the shelf, I found a great cookbook that my mother got for me several years ago, Cooking Fresh From Mid-Atlantic:

Not only are there lots of lovely stories from farms and chefs that I know (Nora from Restaurant Nora, Polyface Farms), there are doable and accessible recipes that I am ready to try.

As I think NOW about my shopping at the farmers’ market on Saturday (which counts as advanced planning in my life), I am planning on buying potatoes and smoked ricotta cheese to make Smoked Ricotta Gnocchi, and a basket of mushrooms to sautee, maybe I’ll braise the cabbage in the fridge, or roast the butternut squash, or mash the sweet potatoes that need to be cooked…that’s our plan. Check back Monday to see how it went!

I’m ready to see if I can make the gnocchi… a new one for me!

What are you planning to make this weekend that is SOLE (Sustainable, Organic, Local, and Ethical)?

Leave a Reply

