Moving to Local Milk?

I am pondering milk. Specifically local milk. With three teenagers, we go through a lot of milk in our house, and I have not yet made the transition to local and/or organic milk. It is not a question of access. I can get local milk at the farmer’s market, and at The Local Market that is just 10 minutes from my house. The kids buy chocolate milk at the farmer’s market as a treat everyone once in a while, but we have never bought regular old milk to bring home to supply us for the week.  It seems like an easy change to make and yet, I hesitate. I am not entirely sure why. Cost is a factor — but my unwillingness to pay more for milk is illogical. I pay more for meat and eggs because they taste so good — although not all the meat we eat and eggs we use are from local sources. Fruits and veggies come primarily from the farmer’s market and our garden in season. And we buy some of our cheese from the market (especially feta). Is it because milk is so fundamental to our day? Or because I want to be able to run to the store to pick it up whenever I want (of course organic milk is easily accessible – so there is really no excuse…)? I really don’t know why it has been so hard for me to move on this aspect of our diet.

Given this obvious omission from our move to eating local, I am considering home delivery from South Mountain Creamery – I don’t know yet if they deliver in our area, but if they do I think this might be my Christmas present to myself. Not only does the Creamery deliver milk, but I could get yogurt, milk, cheese that I don’t always see at the market, and maple syrup for my pancakes.  

If so, anything I should know/consider before making a decision?

3 Comments to “Moving to Local Milk?”

  1. I know several people who use them and love them – I’ve heard that their skim milk tastes so much creamier than regular skim milk. I remember feeling hesitant about just the delivery factor – someone driving all the way to my house – but then realized that the truck is already in my neighborhood 🙂 delivering to my neighbors. Their cows are on pasture but aren’t purely grass-fed – which is something that’s been on my mind a lot lately. If you go with them I’d love to read about what you think!!!

  2. I have a really hard time with this too. I use Hartzler’s milk occasionally because they’re just about an hour from here, but it’s $4 a half gallon. It’s just plain painful! The crazy thing is that I have been saving money in all kinds of directions by making things at home, so I don’t know why I don’t just justify this purchase. It’s so much better for us. Unhomogenized and grass fed. REAL milk even if it’s not raw milk.

    • I am glad to know I am not alone! My sister-in-law read this post and was in disbelief that we hadn’t “converted” to organic/local milk already…but I am close to buying that first gallon and getting the verdict from the kids….

Leave a Reply

