If I Ever Need To Cook A Wolf….

…I want Tamar Adler to be with me. Not only would she be able to provide me with excellent advice about the best techniques to use, I know she would write a wonderful book about it.

But if you can’t wait for me to find a wolf to cook…and it might take a very long time for that to happen in the DC ‘burbs (although we just got visual confirmation that coyotes are wandering around in Arlington…), I recommed that you pick up a copy of Adler’s new book, An Everlasting Meal: Cooking with Economy and Grace.

My beautiful daughter, who you know as The Picky Eater, got this for me for my birthday. I had read the review of it, and seen it featured on one of my fellow blogger’s sites, Greenish Monkeys. And I devoured it in a weekend.  Wonderfully written, the book draws you into a conversation about how to think about preparing food, and invites you to think about each meal that you prepare as the beginning of the next meal.  The virtues of simple preparation using ingredients that are in your pantry, or easily found at the market, are featured throughout.  And if you are serious about going to Zero Waste, this book will help you get there. Although she includes a few recipes, this book is really meant to be read and then reread and then consulted as you think about how to prepare the real food that you bring into your house.

I have already started to follow some of her strategies to make my weeknight cooking easier. When I got home one night last week, for example, I walked in the door,  put on a pot of water to boil and put some sweet potatoes in the oven to roast. Only then did I open the refrigerator to think about what else might accompany the roasting veggies and the boiling water.  And I used the water that I boiled potatoes in to begin stock that we made from the lamb we had with dinner on Sunday, and then added the water from the asparagus to the stock too!! Never would I have thought to do that until I read this book. Read it, enjoy it, and then read it again!

For those of you seeking inspiration, her videos are awesome!  I can’t wait for my first CSA pickup so that I can implement “How To Stride Ahead” in toto!

Okay, now to read her inspiration, MFK Fisher’s How to Cook a Wolf... Check out this fascinating NY Times review from 1942 when it was initially published! It was another time indeed.

6 Comments to “If I Ever Need To Cook A Wolf….”

  1. I’m glad you liked it– such a great book. It’s changing the way I approach cooking. Also, I now cook much, much tastier beans. 🙂

    • I haven’t even gotten to beans yet! But I agree that my pasta is much tastier (and the kids aren’t using quite as much of our parmesan….). Thanks again so much for mentioning the book on your blog!

  2. Yes! I love this book and I’m so glad you introduced me to it (via posting video link in comments on my blog). I have since become a huge fan. I am boiling water, and I am finally soaking those darn beans. Go figure – my kids devoured my first bean broth. This was the book I needed to discover – thank you! 🙂

  3. Great post! You are the second person to recommend this book to me, so I must get it. Today I cooked my broccoli in the water I boiled the pierogies in, so I must be ready…

Leave a Reply

