At Long Last: Spring CSA Week 1

Even though I participated in both the spring and autumn CSAs last year, it still feels like forever since our last CSA pickup. But last night, in between trying to see The Transit of Venus, we popped over to pick up our bag from Potomac Vegetable Farms.

What, you may wonder, was in the bag?

The answer: many green things with some white and purple accents!

An abundance of green

For those of you who prefer a list format:

  • 3 large heads of red-leaf lettuce
  • 1 bag of mixed lettuce
  • 1 green cabbage
  • 2 lbs. beets
  • 1 lb hakuri turnips
  • 1 bunch Swiss chard
  • 1 bunch spring red onions
  • 2 cucumbers
  • 1 bunch basil
  • 1 bunch garlic scapes

It has been 28 hours since we picked up our CSA, and what has already been consumed?

  • the bag of mixed lettuce
  • the beets
  • 1/2 of the turnips
  • some of the basil
  • all of the garlic scapes

We sauteed the garlic scapes and basil in olive oil, and served them with Argentinian chorizo over pasta.

Sautee the garlic scapes with a little basil

Served with the chorizo and the scapes over linguine

And, following a recipe from one of my awesome birthday cookbooks, Fast, Fresh, & Green:

We made Quick Beet Chips — easy as pie — slice ’em thin, mix with olive oil, salt, and fresh herb of your choice (we used fresh oregano from the garden) —

Mix the thinly sliced beets with fresh herbs and olive oil

and cook ’em in a 475 degree oven for about 16-18 minutes.

Ready to Eat!

All gone, and my bona fide beet hater (otherwise known as the man of the house) proclaimed them delicious!!

9 Comments to “At Long Last: Spring CSA Week 1”

  1. WooHoo!!! I LOVE this! Next week will be my first CSA share ever, and I’m thrilled 😀 Just went through a bunch of garlic scapes this weekend from the farmers market as well as sweet Japanese turnips. Definitely going to remember your delicious beet chips as I’m assuming some will be headed my way soon. Beautiful pics and super post!

  2. I can’t wait to see what you get! It is so fun to be surprised once a week. The beet chips were a hit – I definitely recommend them.

  3. What a beautiful bounty! I love how you didn’t waste any time getting those delicious veggies in your belly. I have always wanted to make beet chips but have yet to buy a mandolin…on my list of things I want 🙂

    Thanks for linking up!

  4. those beets look awesome. Ours haven’t come in yet (not sure my husband actually planted them since he doesn’t like them). Maybe I’ll pick some up from the farmer’s market today.

  5. Thank you for bringing sunshine to my week! I have nominated your blog for the Sunshine Blogger’s Award. See my site for more information at http://yearofhealthierliving.wordpress.com/2012/06/09/day-158-peach-balsamic-vinaigrette-and-an-award/

    • Thanks so much! I love hearing about your adventures and am thrilled to know that you find sunshine in my posts. I hope you find some purple cauliflower this week – there was more this week at our market!

Leave a Reply

