The Perfect Summer ‘Slaw

Does not have any mayonnaise in it.

Does not require you to go to the store.

Does not require any heat-producing devices to be turned on.

So with my trusty How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by my side, I whipped up a batch of Spicy Slaw from pg. 48 to take on a picnic by the Potomac.

First, I chopped up the head of green cabbage that we had from the CSA.

Then, I added a handful of chopped up raw tender green beans from Saturday’s market.

And some red onions and their tops from the CSA.

I tossed in some chopped basil and the last two Hakuri turnips from the CSA too.

Then I made some dressing by whisking together:

  • 2 tablespoons of Dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 small clove of garlic
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

And then I tossed ’em all together.

Chilled in the ‘fridge, ready to go into the cooler.

Delicious — although if you like a little heat, I would add a minced fresh chile — kids were coming to the picnic so I didn’t add it — but since only one of them actually ate it, next time I will absolutely add a little chile to provide a little bite!

15 Comments to “The Perfect Summer ‘Slaw”

  1. This slaw looks fantastic! I will be making this the next time I receive some cabbage in my box. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Come and link up to this week’s CSA link party so everyone can drool over this fabulous idea…http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/06/whats-in-the-box-29/. Hope to see you there!

  2. It does sound perfect! Nice change from the typical coleslaw….I’m always looking for fun ways to use cabbage. Great post.

    • It is a great change from regular slaw. Two of my kids aren’t big on mayo – so this is a winner for them! Thanks for stoppin’ by.

  3. That looks so cool and delicious. I have made “cole slaw” using a homemade Italian dressing, but I like the looks of your dressing. I use a lot of mustard in my salad dressings and marinates, so I have everything on hand. Might have to do this with some kale from the garden and peppers and green beans. Cabbage is long gone from these hot southern parts.

    • Wow! Hard to believe that it’s no longer cabbage season down in the waaay South — although given the past few days of 90-degree weather here, we may not be far behind! Homemade dressing is so easy – I find that I’m doing it for nearly every salad I make. The only ones I can’t make myself that we love are Annie’s Woodstock and Goddess dressings!

  4. I love that there’s no mayo in this. Thanks for sharing! It looks delicious.

  5. Oh! I too made a mayo-free slaw for my SSFC raw dish this week, with a lime-cilantro dressing. I love the addition of hakurei turnips that you did with yours – I grow a couple of different varieties of shiso, and now you’ve got me thinking about a Japanese slaw…

  6. I love the idea of a slaw with beans & turnips! It sounds so fresh!

  7. I’m a big fan of non-mayo slaws, as well as making my own dressing! I like to make a spicy slaw with lime, cilantro, and chipotle in adobo with a smidge agave nectar. The only dressing I buy is the Japanese carrot/ginger kind, which would probably go well for an Asian style slaw.

    • I do like the Japanese carrot/ginger dressing too – but I am the only one who really likes it! I am going to try your spicy slaw dressing – that sounds lovely.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Nice … I have half a head of cabbage and a jar of whole grain Dijon. Might go well with some leftover pork roast slices I will have after tonite’s meal. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

