SSFC Week 3: Garden Greens Vichyssiose

or, what to do with all that lettuce in your fridge.

It is week 3 of the Southern SOLE Food Challenge. To see what everyone is up to, just click on the picture.

In our house, we have had a bit of an unstructured week – with a mom not running on a 100%, a family getting the Eldest ready for Spain, all three kids trying to get  through the end-of-school exams and shenanigans, and the Man of the House engaged in two conferences over the last 5 days, there’s not been a lot of time for cooking.

So when I opened the fridge tonight after piano, and realized that our CSA pick up is tomorrow, I know that whatever I made tonight needed to feature lots and lots of produce.

Fortunately, my go-to recipe guru, Mark Bittman, had written an article in the NY Times magazine on June 3rd, that was stuck up on my cork board, just waiting for me. As those of you who read our blog know, we like vichyssiose – even the Picky Eater. So, the “garden greens vichyssiose” recipe caught my eye. Especially when I saw that it featured substituting “other greens” and “peeled and cubed zucchini” for the leeks.  These I had in my fridge…ready to be put into the soup….!

To make it, here’s what you do:

Melt 2 tablespoons butter in a large pot.

Add 3 peeled and cubed potatoes, 2 cups “other greens”, and 1 or 2 peeled and cubed zucchini (we actually double the recipe given what we had in the fridge/pantry).

Cook for about 3 minutes, stirring, until softened.

Add 4 cups stock (we used the stock we made from the veggie ends that was just hangin’ out in our freezer waiting for its’ turn). And we probably used about 6-7 cups, given that we were just about doubling the recipe.

Boil, cover, lower the heat, and simmer until the vegetables are tender, about 20 minutes.

Puree, he says. An excuse for using the immersion blender!

Then he recommends cooling. We were hungry, so we just stirred in some milk (as opposed to cream), and put out a variety of garnishes — lemons, parmesan, and hot sauce.  Accompanied by Atwater’s bread, a lovely end to a busy day.

And that, my friends, is one of the local meals that we have enjoyed this week! Bon appetit!

 

6 Comments to “SSFC Week 3: Garden Greens Vichyssiose”

  1. How interesting! I have NEVER cooked lettuce before….I’ve grilled romaine but that’s the extent of my lettuce cooking. It looks great.

    • In the spirit of full disclosure, it’s only my second time. But this time it worked out great! I would definitely recommend it. The soup is even more delicious cold.

  2. I love simple soups like vichyssiose! Yours looks great!

  3. Love the immersion blender from soups to soap. what a great recipe for suing things in your refrigerator. So glad everyone in your family loves it. That makes a fantastic recipe and worth worth keeping around.

Leave a Reply

