Livin’ the Local-Loco Life

The past 6 weeks have brought more chaos to my life than I had anticipated for my summer.  I was expecting a regular old, somewhat busy but not-to0-busy, summer.  However, that is not how it has gone so far.  Personal (my mom’s health and my sister’s wedding planned and carried off within 2 weeks), work (a week-long trip), and climatic (the derech0) challenges have meant little time to blog about the shopping, cooking, and eating that our family has been engaged in. Survival has absolutely been the name of the game. Simple food preparation has kept us all sane and the bounty of summer produce has not let us down. The benefits of the milkman bringing milk, egg, butter, cheese, and meat to the front door once a week cannot be underestimated.  And, we have made it to the farmer’s market nearly every weekend…

So a few local highlights are captured below:

The CSA that greeted me when I got back from my trip.

And the CSA from this past week:

The multitude of cherry tomatoes from our garden, and the peppers and squash brought by friends to share with us.

 

Sadly, I don’t have any pictures of the peaches and melons and corn and bacon that we have been devouring from the market.  Needless to say, we haven’t gone hungry through the chaos. We have resorted to many simple go-to meals, such as,

  • Fresh tomato-basil sauce over pasta, accompanied with roasted eggplant, squash, pepper, and cherry tomatoes.
  • Homemade tomato sauce with delicious local beef served over linguine.
  • Tomato-cucumber-feta salad is a frequent accompaniment, and beet chips are new favorites for us!
  • A curry featuring red peppers, potatoes, and onions.
  • Sweet summer corn appears routinely on our table these days. 

Work has settled down, no imminent power-killing storms are on the horizon, my sister is married, and my mom is stable. I am hopeful that tomorrow will bring a day of rest and lots of food preparation to my house.  I have some tomato sauce, pesto, and zucchini bread to make.  And some pictures to take too. I am ready to return to the blog-o-sphere now that some semblance of order has returned to my household, and can’t wait to catch up on what everyone has been cooking!

Happy August all!

 

 

Tags: ,

7 Comments to “Livin’ the Local-Loco Life”

  1. Great variety of produce 🙂

    Come and share your local goodness at this week’s CSA link party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/08/02/whats-in-the-box-37/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

  2. love the pics of produce – so August!

  3. I’m jealous of all your yellow squash.

Leave a Reply

