Yellow Squash Casserole and CSA Week 10

I was visiting with my mom the other day, explaining just how much yellow squash I had in my house… and she said, “You know, I really love the yellow squash casserole that they serve at Ted’s (Ted’s Montana Grill that is).”  Now I rarely try to reproduce meals that we love from restaurants, but I thought that we could give this one a go, since no one in my immediate household had ever tried it.

So, once I got home, I started the Internet search, and came across a recipe on the Food Network. It looked straightforward, so I jumped in. (For the full recipe, do visit the link – I’m just going to hit the highlights here).

First off, turn the oven on to 350 degrees.

Next, chop up lots of yellow squash and a couple of carrots.

Barely cover them with water, bring to a boil, then simmer until tender (I was tempted to skip this step and go right to baking it in the oven, but I believe it was critical to the creamy texture that you get at the end…)

While the veggies are bubbling, you should melt 3 tablespoons of butter in a skillet, add one chopped medium yellow onion, and sautee slowly until translucent. Then add a minced garlic clove and let it soften too. Remove to a mixing bowl.

Then, add another tablespoon of butter to the skillet, and add 1/2 cup of crumbled Ritz crackers. Toast ’em until they are golden.

Drain the squash (which should by now be plenty tender) and mash slightly when you add to the onions. Add 1/2 cup cheddar cheese (or more to taste), a dash of hot sauce, and 3/4 cup of crumbled Ritz crackers (try to keep them on the counter… I found that they kept going all over the floor).  Mix it all up good. Add salt and pepper. Stir in 2 lightly beaten eggs.

Then, put it in a greased medium baking pan, and cover with the toasted crackers. Let cook for about 30 minutes, uncovered.

Then eat! Although I was greeted by the family with some questionable expressions when it was served, they all enjoyed it — and even went back for seconds.  I’m not sure if this actually counts as healthy, but we sure ate some squash!

What else came in our CSA this week?  Here’s a photo for the records:

More pesto making and some slow roasting of tomatoes, and some creation of tomato sauce are on our weekend plans — and some baba ganoush too, I think!

What are you planning to do with your summer produce over the weekend? Any plans to preserve some summer goodness for the dark days of winter?

8 Comments to “Yellow Squash Casserole and CSA Week 10”

  1. those tomatoes are going to make a lovely sauce 🙂

    Come and add your link to this week’s CSA Link party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/08/08/whats-in-the-box-38/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

  2. That looks tasty. 🙂 Did you see the squash gratin posted on smitten kitchen? We’ve made that twice and it was delicious. Also: it used a lot of squash.
    I might do some baba ganoush, too. Although I was reading a recipe for pickled eggplants and was tempted by that, too.

  3. YUM! that looks great. glad you family liked it too. Going back for 2nds in super! When ever I used to crush crackers I would either put them in a small cereal bowl and use the bottom of a glass to lightly crumble a few at a time or put in a plastic zipper bag and use a glass to crush or crumble. that way they didn’t end up all over the floor. ha.

  4. I cooked up some squash in olive oil and then pureed it and put it in the freezer. That way I can use it as pasta sauce or soup in the winter.

Leave a Reply

