Archive for September 3rd, 2012

September 3, 2012

What’s For Dinner? First Week of School Edition

School starts tomorrow.

It’s a big year for us. The Eldest is going to be a senior in high school…when the heck did that happen?!?…and the twins are going to be eighth graders. Lots of consequential decisions being made this year, and I haven’t filled the calendar in yet because I am relishing the illusion of emptiness for a couple of more hours.

But knowing that schedules are going to be insane, I am going to try to do some menu planning this fall. If it goes well, I might even extend it into 2013 :).

So, here’s what this week looks like in my house, I think:

  • Sunday (last night): Dinner out at the Mad Fox Brewing Company in celebration of the end of summer.
  • Monday: Pesto pasta, roasted green beans, cucumber salad.
  • Tuesday: Gumbo (but with season-appropriate okra instead of asparagus), corn bread. We get our CSA delivery today, so veggies for the rest of the week will depend upon what we get!
  • Wednesday: I have a dinner engagement, so it’ll be up to the Man of the House. There will be hamburger so he could do tacos, or straight up hamburgers. And there are mushrooms, so he can sautee them to accompany.
  • Thursday: Black bean and sweet potato chili with polenta. I’m going to make it in the slow cooker.
  • Friday: Leek, Chard, and Corn Flatbread from SmittenKitchen.
  • Saturday: Chicken Normandy, to feature some of the delicious apples that I will get at the market.

We’ll give it a go, and see how it works!

Hope the first day of school is smooth for everyone who starts tomorrow.

